Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Newest Members
Renuka, KavyaMurthy, Del, Bejoylin P, Shaqirre
1278 Registered Users
Recent Posts
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
465,198 PAYE RTI
54,995 HR_PF.K RUP4
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#12064 - 26/10/17 01:33 PM Changing the PAYE ref on an "in flight" Payroll  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 62
BRIAN_D Offline
hanger-on
BRIAN_D  Offline
hanger-on

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 62
Swindon, Wiltshire
Hello all

We're in the very unusual situation of nearly all of our client Payrolls transferring to new ownership as of April next year.

Since it's once new company which will now own all the old Payrolls (It's very political and very messy but that's life) we had hoped we'd be able to keep using the same PAYE references, but we've been asked to look into maybe having to change them all.

We'd really rather not have to go down the path of new Payroll's and thus new Element Links, Element Entries, in flight-loansetc etc etc because it would be a nightmarish quantity of work for a March/April when we already have a lot going on. 15 new Payrolls at the same time?? Noooooo thank you!

So we've been looking into updating the PAYE reference, and have been using a test copy of the system as our basis for this.

So far we have discovered that;

1) You can only update a PAYE on an active Payroll if it's made on 6th April (There might be loopholes, but they sound like a LOT of work), and

2) You can't make the update if there are any open-ended Terminated Assignments as of 6th April (That's more of a housekeeping issue I think and could be dealt with)

Has anyone had to do anything like this before, and are there any other pitfalls we'd need to make note of?

I'd be particularly concerned over RTI, since we'd have people earning some of their money, notionally, in two Tax References in the same month on the same Payroll run. I suspect it might only use the one in place at the end of the month, but confirmation would be very reassuring.

We can't check RTI FPS etc because we don't have the 2018/19 RTI TYE in place on any of our environments yet.

Our first attempt on a small-ish Payroll seems to have worked (It showed the new PAYE Reference in the Payslips), which makes me incredibly paranoid that we're overlooking something, so any shared experiences would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Brian

#12065 - 30/10/17 08:41 AM Re: Changing the PAYE ref on an "in flight" Payroll [Re: BRIAN_D]  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,287
delboy Offline
The Grand Daddy
delboy  Offline
The Grand Daddy
*****

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,287
Somewhere in South of England
Hi Brian,

Oracle's Payroll User Guide states:

"You must ensure that the PAYE reference for a payroll remains the same throughout a
tax year to avoid generating incorrect statutory reports. You can change the PAYE
reference for a payroll at the start of a new tax year, 6th April. However, if you have
already executed one or more payroll runs in a tax year, changing the PAYE reference
for the payroll with a retrospective effective date can result in incorrect statutory
reports."

#12066 - 30/10/17 02:00 PM Re: Changing the PAYE ref on an "in flight" Payroll [Re: delboy]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 62
BRIAN_D Offline
hanger-on
BRIAN_D  Offline
hanger-on

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 62
Swindon, Wiltshire
Hi there

Thanks for that, which confirms our thoughts.

We'd also have to suppress the P45's which would be created by a PAYE reference change which we think we deal with, and factor in what impact such a process would have on being able to provide P60's for the 2017/18 year.


Moderated by  Administrator 

Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics2,211
Posts11,952
Members1,279
Most Online90
Mar 5th, 2017
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Recent vacancies
Top Posters(All Time)
CT 2,092
bcooper 1,289
delboy 1,287
paulgos 434
SBi 426
pat 254
Gus 252
vkumar 223
October
S M T W T F S
1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.005s) Memory: 2.7442 MB (Peak: 2.8894 MB) Zlib disabled. Server Time: 2018-10-22 10:14:36 UTC